Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Active Social Books
Presenting You With Books Worth Checking Out
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Humor   Lawyers & Criminals

Slow Days, Fast Company: The World, The Flesh, and L.A. (New York Review Books Classics)


Super Savings Item! Save 35% on the Slow Days, Fast Company: The World, The Flesh, and L.A. (New York Review Books Classics) by New York Review of Books at Active Social Books. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. No one burned hotter than Eve Babitz. Possessing skin that radiated “its own kind of moral laws,” spectacular teeth, and a figure that was the


Product Description

No one burned hotter than Eve Babitz. Possessing skin that radiated “its own kind of moral laws,” spectacular teeth, and a figure that was the stuff of legend, she seduced seemingly everyone who was anyone in Los Angeles for a long stretch of the 1960s and ’70s. One man proved elusive, however, and so Babitz did what she did best, she wrote him a book. Slow Days, Fast Company is a full-fledged and full-bodied evocation of a bygone Southern California that far exceeds its mash-note premise. In ten sun-baked, Santa Ana wind–swept sketches, Babitz re-creates a Los Angeles of movie stars distraught over their success, socialites on three-day drug binges holed up in the Chateau Marmont, soap-opera actors worried that tomorrow’s script will kill them off, Italian femmes fatales even more fatal than Babitz. And she even leaves LA now and then, spending an afternoon at the house of flawless Orange County suburbanites, a day among the grape pickers of the Central Valley, a weekend in Palm Springs where her dreams of romance fizzle and her only solace is Virginia Woolf. In the end it doesn’t matter if Babitz ever gets the guy—she seduces us.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:NYRB Classics
Brand:New York Review of Books
Publisher:NYRB Classics
Studio:NYRB Classics
EAN:9781681370088
Item Weight:0 pounds
Item Size:0.4 x 8 x 8 inches
Package Weight:0.4 pounds
Package Size:4.8 x 0.4 x 0.4 inches

Slow Days, Fast Company: The World, The Flesh, and L.A. (New York Review Books Classics) by New York Review of Books

Buy Now:
Slow Days, Fast Company: The World, The Flesh, and L.A. (New York Review Books Classics)

Brand: New York Review of Books
4.9 out of 5 stars with 56 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$15.95
$10.38
You Save: 35%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Lawyers & Criminals.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by New York Review of Books, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By imusti
ean: 9781401245627, isbn: 1401245625,
The new Doom Patrol puts itself back together after nearly being destroyed, and things start to get a lot weirder for everybody. The Chief leads Robotman, the recently formed Rebis and new member Crazy Jane against the Scissormen, part of a dangerous...

By Vintage
ean: 9780375707216, isbn: 0375707212,
I Married a Communist is the story of the rise and fall of Ira Ringold, a big American roughneck who begins life as a teenage ditch-digger in 1930s Newark, becomes a big-time 1940s radio star, and is destroyed, as both a performer and a man, in the M...

By Penguin Books
ean: 9780385086165, isbn: 0385086164,
From the renowned author of The African Trilogy, a political satire about an unnamed African country navigating a path between violence and corruption   As Minister for Culture, former school teacher M. A. Nanga is a man of the people, as cynical as...

By DC Comics
mpn: 9781401211530, ean: 9781401211530, isbn: 1401211534,
Presenting a new edition of the title collecting the adventures of the Victorian era Batman. This volume includes the breakthrough Elseworlds epics GOTHAM BY GASLIGHT and MASTER OF THE FUTURE, which pit the Dark Knight against Jack the Ripper and a...

By Penguin Classics
ean: 9780140430400, isbn: 0140430407,
At the beginning of Pudd'nhead Wilson a young slave woman, fearing for her infant's son's life, exchanges her light-skinned child with her master's.  From this rather simple premise Mark Twain fashioned one of his most entertaining, funny, yet biti...

By DC Comics
mpn: FBA-|284434, ean: 9781401231453, isbn: 1401231454,
Batman is confronted with a hidden face from the past — it’s the return of the vigilante Red Hood who appears to be Batman’s one-time partner Jason Todd, the same Jason Todd that died many years ago. But the Red Hood’s violent ways pit him ag...

By Gerard Way Shaun Simon
mpn: 21957150, ean: 9781595824622, isbn: 1595824626,
Years ago, the Killjoys fought against the tyrannical megacorporation Better Living Industries, costing them their lives, save for one—the mysterious Girl. Today, the followers of the original Killjoys languish in the Desert while BLI systemati...

By Back Bay Books
ean: 9780316074292, isbn: 0316074292,
The bestselling, Man Booker Prize-winning novel hailed as "a true achievement. Catton has built a lively parody of a 19th-century novel, and in so doing created a novel for the 21st, something utterly new. The pages fly."--New York Times Book ReviewI...

By CROWN JUV
ean: 9780553524062, isbn: 0553524062,
“Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming.” —Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything.Perfect for fans of Turtles All the Way Down,Thirteen Reasons Why, and Zentner's own The Serpent King,...

By McEwan, Ian
mpn: 9781400076192, ean: 9780007218295, isbn: 000721829X,
In his triumphant new novel, Ian McEwan, the bestselling author of Atonement, follows an ordinary man through a Saturday whose high promise gradually turns nightmarish. Henry Perowne–a neurosurgeon, urbane, privileged, deeply in love with his wife ...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - activesocialbooks.com. All Rights Reserved.